Keep up to date with all things UniBrass
Join the UniBrass Family
  • Facebook - White Circle
  • Twitter - White Circle
  • Instagram - White Circle
  • Picture1
  • YouTube - White Circle

The UniBrass Foundation: Supporting university brass bands

UniBrass Foundation is a Registered Charity in England & Wales, No. 1159359

Support the future of brass banding
Donate with PayPal

© 2019 by UniBrass Foundation. Created with

UniBrass Organising Committee

The committee are responsible for organising and running the contest, both in public and behind the scenes. Without their hard work and dedication, UniBrass would not be able to run each year at all, let alone be the spectacular event that it is.

Phoebe Swallow


Phoebe is currently in her final undergraduate year at Bangor University studying Music. Although coming from more of a composition background, she is an active member of Bangor University’s Concert Band and Brass Band as a percussionist and recently began her brass debut on trumpet at the National Concert Band Festival 2019. Phoebe is excited to bring something new to UniBrass 2020 after participating in her first UniBrass in 2019 and loving every moment.

Fred Newson


Fred is currently reading Law at Bangor University and is in his final year at the university. Coming from a family with plenty of musical experience, he began learning the trombone at age 11 and the guitar aged 15. He used his brass skills all through his school life taking part in both the brass and concert band at secondary school; most notably performing at the schools production of ’Oliver’ and many Christmas concerts around Northamptonshire.

Tilly Scott

Contest Secretary

Tilly is in her final year studying Neuropsychology at Bangor University. She began learning the trumpet at age 11 and since then has played in many orchestras, brass bands, concert bands, and big band. She is currently the conductor for Bangor University Brass Band. This is Tilly’s second year as UniBrass Contest Secretary and she hopes to make this contest as enjoyable as possible!

Jamie Larkin

Marketing Officer

Jamie is currently studying a Master’s degree in Composition and Sonic Art at Bangor University, where he also completed his Bachelor of Music degree. Jamie is a woodwind player, with his main instrument being the flute. He has taken on several committee positions throughout his time at Bangor, including being the Publicity and Events Officer for Bangor University Concert Band and Music Society. Jamie first volunteered for UniBrass last year when the contest made its debut in Bangor and is excited to be part of the team organising UniBrass 2020!

Jack Ledsham

Volunteering Coordinator

Jack is second year music student. He picked up the trumpet at a young age and played throughout high school. During this time he played in local youth ensembles and the National Youth Jazz Orchestra of Scotland. After graduating high school, his trumpet was left mostly on the back burner as his focus shifted to playing drum kit in original projects and in-function bands. Jack has many years of experience running community street drumming groups focussing on participation and accessibility. When Jack started his studies at Bangor, he knew it was time to pick up the trumpet again and now, he plays in various ensembles including the Bangor University Brass Band. Jack competed in his first UniBrass in 2019.

Holly James-Porch

Outreach Coordinator

Holly is a 3rd year music student studying at Bangor University, specialising in composition. Holly began to play cornet at the age of 10 at BTM Brass Band: Next Generation and moved onto tenor horn at age 13. She now currently plays in Bangor University’s Brass Band, Concert Band and Orchestra.

Ashley Butterworth

General Committee Member

Ashley is a third year Biology student and Secretary for Bangor University Brass Band. He first began playing the euphonium in 2009 and now plays for Bangor University Brass Band and Music Society Orchestra. He first experienced UniBrass in 2018 in York, and wanted to contribute to running the event, and was on the 2019 Organising Committee as General Committee Member. In 2020, after the success of the 2019 event and with the hope of improving the competition further he is once again the general committee member. He hopes that the Organising Committee this year can increase participation from both performers and also the general public, helping to increase awareness of UniBrass for future competitions.